Bosnia & Herzegovina

Business registers in Bosnia and Herzegovina

Start with the shared court search and identify the responsible register jurisdiction. Obtain a court extract for official evidence. Financial statements are a separate service, handled by FIA in the Federation and APIF in Republika Srpska.

Country guideSources reviewed:

Additional registers in Bosnia & Herzegovina

All additional registers for this country →
In this country guide
Basic search
Free [3]
Entry
No sign-in [3]

Search and document delivery at a glance

Search online
The shared court search displays basic company details without an account. Digital court extracts and financial reports have separate access routes. [3] [2] [5]
Search language
The joint court-register portal offers Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian and English. In English, select “BASIC SEARCH” to search by company name, registration number, abbreviated name or founder. FIA and APIF operate separate services. [24]
Digital documents
FIA offers electronic copies and PDF retrieval. Sarajevo describes electronically signed court extracts with QR codes for its specified new-system records. [14] [15] [5]
Document language
Not specified
Paper and collection
FIA and APIF have separate paper-copy tariffs. APIF charges shipping separately. [19] [20] [13] [14]
International delivery
Not specified
Fees at a glance
Shared public company search free. Court extracts in Sarajevo and East Sarajevo: 10 convertible marks (KM) per page. FIA copies: KM 70 electronic or KM 100 paper, plus applicable VAT.
Access
The shared search works through basic company details without an account. Electronic court extracts and financial reports have separate application and access procedures. The new Federation portal currently covers Sarajevo and Travnik.

Choose the right register

There are three relevant register jurisdictions: the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Republika Srpska and Brčko District. The competent courts maintain the legally authoritative business registers. The shared website brings together electronic information and expressly does not replace a certified court extract. [2]

The new Federation portal, bizreg.ba, currently names the Sarajevo and Travnik courts. The shared entry page directs Brčko users to bizreg.osbd.ba. A missing result on one of these portals is therefore not nationwide evidence of non-registration. [1] [4] [3]

Shared court search

Public entry to electronic registers.

Federation portal: Sarajevo and Travnik

Company search in the new system.

Brčko register

Separate official entry for the District.

FIA

Federation financial reports and request forms.

APIF: financial reports

Republika Srpska access guidance, forms and tariff.

FIA: request financial reports

Official request form for reporting period, document type and use.

Names and abbreviations explained

MBSMatični broj subjekta
Court registration number, useful for distinguishing companies with similar names. [3]
JIBJedinstveni identifikacioni broj
The business’s unified identification number, shown alongside MBS. [4] [3]
d.o.o.Društvo sa ograničenom odgovornošću
Limited liability company. [4]
d.d.Dioničko društvo
Joint-stock company, a designation used in the Federation. [3]
FIAFinansijsko-informatička agencija
The Federation’s Financial and Information Agency, responsible for its financial-report register. [12]
APIFAgencija za posredničke, informatičke i finansijske usluge
Agency for Intermediary, Information and Financial Services of Republika Srpska. [18]
KMKonvertibilna marka
Convertible mark, the local currency used in the official tariffs. [14]

Documents and fees

Document / informationContents and purposeFeeHow to get it
Public company view [3] [2]Basic information and links to further register sections; expressly informational.Free (KM 0)Basic search without an account; does not constitute a certified extract.
Sarajevo court extract [7] [5]Registered legal position of the selected company.KM 10 per page under tariff item 29, version 28/2025Court application; digital ordering subject to stated system coverage and signature requirements.
East Sarajevo current or historical extract [8]Current position or registration history.KM 10 per page for either typeApply to the competent Commercial Court; payment before issue.
Brčko extract or certificate [10] [11]Registered information or a specified fact, such as insolvency/liquidation.Published 2010 guidance: KM 5 per page, certificate KM 15; confirm present calculationBlank application and request to the Basic Court of Brčko.
FIA financial-report copy [12] [14] [13]An individual filed financial report or selected document.KM 70 electronic or KM 100 paper, plus applicable VATWritten request and payment; the tariff also lists PDF downloading at KM 70.
Format / delivery
PDF or electronic copy. Delivery: Download. [14] [15]
International delivery
Postal delivery is not part of this digital route. [14] [15]
APIF financial-report copy [19] [18] [20]Current tariff category with notes/audit report; older reports separately priced.KM 60 current category up to ten reports; older: KM 85 paper/KM 60 electronic; marked VAT-liable; total payable as quotedOnline account or copy application; certification +20%, urgency +50%, postage separate.
APIF individual component [19]For example, balance sheet, income statement, cash-flow statement or notes.KM 20 per component, marked VAT-liable in the tariffSpecify the component and reporting year.

Coverage and visible information

The shared platform covers commercial companies subject to registration, cooperatives and cooperative unions, and other legal persons conducting business. It is not a complete directory of every self-employed individual. Coverage starts when each court began using its electronic register. [2]

Advanced search offers jurisdiction, municipality, registration-date range and legal form. Additional filters cover founders’ origin, agreed and paid capital, and registered activities. Users can also filter insolvency/liquidation, deletion and foreign-trade registration. Municipality and founder-country lists allow multiple selections. [3]

The shared portal gives the date of its last database update. Each result also has the date of the latest decision concerning that company. Use a newly issued court extract when you need current official evidence. [3] [2]

Foreign access and electronic extracts

The public search does not require a local identity. The Federation portal uses email and password for account sign-in. [3]

Sarajevo’s notice of 28 August 2026 describes electronic extracts requiring the user’s qualified signature and electronic payment, with the court’s signature and a QR code on the output. It covers companies registered in the new system from 2024, starting with MBS 65-01-0600-24. Older records are being transferred progressively. [5]

APIF says registration for online financial-report access is free. Its visible account form requires name, username, password and email, with confirmations of the credentials. This first form has no local identity-number field. The specific report and its payment remain separate requirements for a purchase. [18]

Financial statements: distinguish FIA from APIF

FIA maintains the Federation’s Registar finansijskih izvještaja. Article 10 allows anyone to make a written request without proving a legal interest. Holdings include annual accounts and, where required, notes, management reports, audit reports and consolidated material. Statutorily confidential information is excluded. [12]

FIA provides a free selected set of company indicators: assets, liabilities, capital, “Vrijednost poslovanja” (literally business value), business result and employee count. These six indicators are not full financial statements. Under amendment 21/2024, an electronic copy or PDF download costs KM 70 per document; paper costs KM 100. [15] [14]

VAT is calculated separately on taxable FIA fees. If the ordinary 17% rate applies, KM 70 becomes KM 81.90 and KM 100 becomes KM 117. Payment is required before delivery. The data request form asks for reporting period, document type, data positions and intended use. [13] [14] [17] [16]

APIF maintains Republika Srpska’s financial-report register. It offers online reports, datasets, signed or unsigned printouts and stamped copies. APIF says the data are public without proof of legal interest, subject to statutory confidentiality. Online access requires registration. [18]

APIF’s 2026 tariff lists KM 60 per report in the “current year” category, including notes and an auditor’s report, for orders of up to ten reports. Previous-year paper copies cost KM 85; electronic copies cost KM 60. Individual components cost KM 20. The rows are marked as VAT-liable in a separate PDV column. Specify the exact reporting year when ordering. Certified issue adds 20% and same-day urgency adds 50%. Postage is accounted for separately. [19] [20]

PDV is the local abbreviation for value added tax (VAT). APIF marks the listed prices with PDV. Request the total amount payable for your order; the table alone does not state an unambiguous gross total. [19] [17]

Founders and beneficial owners

“Osnivači” means founders. Beneficial ownership belongs in the separate “Registar stvarnih vlasnika”. [3] [22]

Republika Srpska’s 2026 government report records a test version of the beneficial-ownership register in operation. The Federation’s Ministry of Justice describes establishing its own register with FIA. These implementation notices are not instructions for a universally available online extract. A beneficial-ownership request needs separate identification of the jurisdiction, access entitlement and disclosure actually offered. [21] [23]

Fee scope and reuse

Brčko’s still-published court notice of 8 October 2010 lists KM 5 per extract page or KM 10 per double-sided printed sheet. Its example charges KM 20 for four pages on two sheets. Certificates are listed at KM 15, with KM 5 for additional copies. Confirm the current calculation when ordering because this published notice is older. [10]

The court fees cover the specified register document. Article 11 restricts the onward distribution and use of original FIA data. Research access is therefore not blanket permission to publish full financial statements on another website. [7] [10] [12]

Official samples and reading guides

Avoid common mistakes

  • Free APIF account registration does not make ordered financial-report copies free. [18] [19]
  • Older Sarajevo guidance quotes a different calculation for historical extracts. The later tariff item 29 in version 28/2025 is the fee authority used here for court-register extracts. [6] [7]

Frequently asked questions

Which portal should I use first?

Use the shared court search for initial research. For current Brčko records also use the District portal; for records digitised under the new Sarajevo and Travnik system use the new Federation portal. [2] [1] [4]

Do I need a Bosnian identity card for public search?

The shared register search and basic company details are available without login or proof of identity. Electronically signed court extracts have additional requirements. [3] [5]

Can I get full accounts for free?

FIA’s public-data decision releases six selected company indicators free. Full copies and PDF downloads are separate paid products. APIF has its own tariff. [15] [14] [19]

Is a printout of the company page official evidence?

The shared portal expressly says it does not replace a certified court extract. Order the required current or historical extract from the competent court. [2] [8]

Original sources

Sources reviewed: 15 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.

  1. Registri poslovnih subjekata: Startseite Justizportal Bosnien und Herzegowina
  2. Amtliche Suchmasken und öffentlicher Abruf RegisterAtlas, eigene Beobachtung
  3. Elektronische Unternehmensregistrierung der Föderation Federalno ministarstvo pravde
  4. Digitaler Registerauszug und Gebührenänderungen Općinski sud u Sarajevu / kantonale Ministerien
  5. Registar poslovnih subjekata: Auskünfte und Auszüge Općinski sud u Sarajevu
  6. Zakon o sudskim taksama Kantona Sarajevo Općinski sud u Sarajevu, bereitgestellte konsolidierte Gesetzesfassung
  7. Aktuelni izvod i Istorijski izvod iz sudskog registra Okružni privredni sud u Istočnom Sarajevu
  8. Elektronische Registrierung Brčko Pravosudna komisija Brčko distrikta BiH
  9. Registerauszüge, Bescheinigungen und Kopien Osnovni sud Brčko distrikta BiH
  10. Zahtjev za izdavanje: Auszug oder Bescheinigung Osnovni sud Brčko distrikta BiH
  11. Zakon o Registru finansijskih izvještaja Vlada Federacije Bosne i Hercegovine
  12. FIA-Gebührenentscheidung 20/2022 Finansijsko-informatička agencija / Službene novine Federacije BiH
  13. FIA-Gebührenänderung 21/2024 Finansijsko-informatička agencija / Službene novine Federacije BiH
  14. Auswahl der kostenlos veröffentlichten Finanzdaten Finansijsko-informatička agencija
  15. Zahtjev za ustupanje prava na korištenje podataka Finansijsko-informatička agencija
  16. PDV: Mehrwertsteuer Uprava za indirektno/neizravno oporezivanje BiH
  17. APIF-Finanzregister und Kontomaske RegisterAtlas, eigene Beobachtung amtlicher APIF-Seiten
  18. APIF: Gebühren des Finanzberichtregisters 2026 Agencija za posredničke, informatičke i finansijske usluge
  19. APIF: Zahlungsanleitung Agencija za posredničke, informatičke i finansijske usluge
  20. 100 dana rada Vlade Republike Srpske Vlada Republike Srpske
  21. Konsultation zum UBO-Registergesetz Ministarstvo pravde Republike Srpske
  22. Arbeitsgespräch zum Register wirtschaftlich Berechtigter Federalno ministarstvo pravde
  23. Amtliche Suchmaske / Official search form Zuständige Registergerichte der Föderation Bosnien und Herzegowina, der Republika Srpska und des Distrikts Brčko