Isle of Man

Isle of Man: search companies and order registry documents

Search by company name or registration number without signing in. Results identify entity status and registry type. Buy individual documents and company files through an account; request certificates using the appropriate form through the official upload service.

Country guideSources reviewed:
In this country guide
Basic search
Free [1]
Entry
No sign-in [1]

Search and document delivery at a glance

Search online
Public name or number search with an entity summary and document list. No sign-in required. [1]
Search language
English in the search form, results and document selection. [1]
Digital documents
The portal offers company files and individual documents for online purchase. The document list is public; purchase requires an Online Services account. [1]
Document language
Not specified
Paper and collection
Not specified
International delivery
Not specified
Fees at a glance
Search and document list free. Price example for a 2006 Act company: document £2, complete file £15, Charges Register £2. Certificate of Fact or Good Standing: £50 each.
Access
Public search without an account. Document purchases require an Online Services account. Certificate requests use a form upload and payment through the online portal.

Choose the right register

The Isle of Man has its own companies registry. The same search includes, among others, Companies Act 1931 companies, Companies Act 2006 companies and Business Names. The registry type determines which documents and certificates are appropriate. [1] [2]

Names and abbreviations explained

1931 Act / 2006 ActCompanies Act 1931 / Companies Act 2006
Different company regimes. The Certificate of Good Standing is for 2006 Act companies; the authority describes the Certificate of Fact for other company types. [2]
Name StatusStatus of the company name
Current or Previous refers to the name. The separate entity status may show Live or Dissolved. [1]
Charges RegisterRegister of recorded charges
Separate register of security interests. The price example lists £2 for this record. [1]

Documents and fees

Document / informationContents and purposeFeeHow to get it
Company file / individual filed document [1]Company file or individual filing, such as an Annual Return, amended return or Register of Directors. Availability depends on the entity.Price example: £2 per listed document or £15 for the complete file.Open the public list; sign in to purchase.
Certificate of Fact [2] [3] [4]Includes number, name, incorporation date, office, current officers, last annual return and charges. Shareholders on request; other annotations depend on the register.£50. Fast-track service for 1931 Act companies, foundations and foreign companies: £100.Submit the appropriate form and pay through the online portal.
Certificate of Good Standing (2006 Act) [2] [3] [4]Confirms registration and good standing. Includes number, name, incorporation or continuance date, office, annual return and registered agent. The authority also describes checks for dissolution, winding-up, a receiver and instituted strike-off.£50; issue within three hours: £100.2006 Act form through the upload portal; do not order by phone or email.

What the free summary shows

The company overview contains fields for company type, registered office, incorporation and status, with further details on previous names and Registered Agents. Separate sections cover charges, liquidation and receivers. The fields completed depend on the entry. Filed documents are purchased separately. [1]

Document fees by entity type

The official tariff lists a £5 inspection fee for companies under the Companies Acts 1931 and 2006, Limited Liability Companies (LLCs), and Business Names. Inspection of a foundation instrument costs £12. [4]

A Certificate of Fact costs £50 for 1931 Act companies, Business Names, foundations and foreign companies. A Certificate of Good Standing for a 2006 Act company costs £50. The three-hour service costs £100 for 1931 and 2006 Act companies and foundations. The tariff also lists £100 for a fast-track Certificate of Fact for foreign companies. [4]

Copies for Business Names and LLCs cost £0.50 per page. Certification for Business Names costs £1.50 per document. For foundations, the tariff lists £1.50 per document for a certified copy of the foundation instrument. [4]

Official samples and reading guides

Official requisition forms

Authority page with PDF and Word requests for a Certificate of Fact, Certificate of Good Standing and file copies. These are applications, not sample extracts. [3]

Avoid common mistakes

  • Use the certificate form for the relevant registry type. Request a Certificate of Good Standing for a 2006 Act company and a Certificate of Fact for a 1931 Act company. [2] [3]

Frequently asked questions

Do I need to sign in to search?

No. Search, company summaries and document lists are available without sign-in. Purchases require an Online Services account. [1]

Original sources

Sources reviewed: 15 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.

  1. Certificates of Fact and Good Standing Isle of Man Government
  2. Requisition forms Isle of Man Government
  3. Companies Registry fees by entity type Isle of Man Government