- Entry
- No sign-in [14]
Search and document delivery at a glance
- Search online
- Public search by company name or kennitala requires no personal identification. [2] [14]
- Search language
- The public company search is in Icelandic. “Nafn” means name, “Heimilisfang” address and “Kennitala” identification number. “VSK-númer” is the VAT number. [15]
- Digital documents
- Free registry summaries and electronic accounts are supplied for download through the shopping cart. [6] [3] [2] [14]
- Document language
- The free summary is available in Icelandic and English. Certified online certificates are Icelandic; certified English certificates require a separate request. [3] [2]
- Paper and collection
- Not specified
- International delivery
- Not specified
- Fees at a glance
- Search, registration overview and online annual accounts: ISK 0. Certified certificate: ISK 1,500. Electronically sealed registry copy: ISK 1,000; paper copy: ISK 1,500.
- Access
- Public search without an account or Icelandic electronic identity. Certified English certificates are requested by email and billed through an online banking payment claim against the payer’s Kennitala.
Choose the right register
Fyrirtækjaskrá is the company register operated by Iceland Revenue and Customs, Skatturinn. The legislation names its operator Ríkisskattstjóri. The company search links registry details to VAT information and the Register of Annual Accounts, Ársreikningaskrá. The Kennitala is the unique identification number and the key identifier for matching these records. [1] [13] [4]
Start research with the public search. The authenticated tax services and My Pages on Ísland.is serve different purposes. Their identity requirements do not automatically apply to reading publicly accessible company information. [14] [12]
Search by company name, Kennitala, address or VAT number.
Free overview and certified certificates in Icelandic or English.
Official instructions for annual accounts and free online retrieval.
Names and abbreviations explained
- KennitalaUnique Icelandic identification number
- The principal registry identifier for a company. Sole traders use their personal Kennitala. [1] [3]
- VSKVirðisaukaskattur
- Value added tax. VSK-númer means VAT number and is distinct from the Kennitala. [4] [14]
- PrókúraCommercial power of representation
- Prókúruhafar are the registered holders of this authority, commonly called procuration. [2]
- Raunverulegir eigendurBeneficial owners
- The natural persons who ultimately own or control an entity. [10]
Search step by step
Identify the correct company
Complete one search field
Open the official search. Use Nafn for a name, Kennitala for the identification number or VSK-númer for the VAT number. One completed field is sufficient. An address entered under Heimilisfang must use its Icelandic dative form. [4] [14]
Match the result and its status
Select Virkar skráningar for active registrations or Afskráð/rekstri hætt for deregistered or ceased activities where needed. Sjá allt shows all results. Open the result through its Kennitala and compare legal form, address and registration date. [14]
Choose the appropriate document
Use Gjaldfrjálst yfirlit for the free, more detailed registration overview. Open the shopping cart, check that the price is 0 and select Áfram. The next page provides the download. Staðfest vottorð is the paid certified registration certificate. [2] [14]
Find accounts or beneficial ownership information
Select the accounting year and type
Expand Gögn úr ársreikningaskrá on the company page. Compare the financial year, submission date and document type. Ársreikningur means annual accounts; Samstæðureikningur means consolidated accounts. Both can be available for the same year. [6] [14]
Retrieve the free electronic copy
Add the required accounts using the cart icon. The action may be labelled Kaupa, meaning buy. Electronic accounts copies are nevertheless free. Check that the cart shows 0 and follow the download process. [6] [3] [14]
Read beneficial ownership separately
Expand Raunverulegir eigendur on the same company page. Check the nature of control as well as the name. Someone may be listed because of other decision-making powers without a percentage capital interest being displayed. [10] [14]
Request a certified English certificate
Choose language and certification
The public online route is sufficient for a free English overview. If you specifically require a certified registration certificate in English, request it from fyrirtækjaskra@skatturinn.is. The fee is ISK 1,500. [2]
Resolve the payment route first
The authority creates a payment claim in Icelandic online banking against the payer’s Kennitala supplied in the request. Processing follows payment. If you lack this payment access, clarify a suitable payment arrangement directly with the register before placing a paid order. [2] [5]
Documents and fees
| Document / information | Contents and purpose | Fee | How to get it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gjaldfrjálst yfirlit: free registration overview [2] [14] | More detailed registry information, including board and procuration details, in Icelandic and English. | ISK 0 | Company page, corresponding button, cart, Áfram and download. |
| Staðfest vottorð: certified registration certificate [2] [3] | Certified registry information, including management and representation. | ISK 1,500 | Icelandic online with card payment; English by email and a payment claim against the payer’s Kennitala. |
| Sérútbúið vottorð: specially prepared certificate [3] [2] | Certificate addressing a specific information requirement; agree the contents with the register. | ISK 3,000 | Contact the register to specify the required contents and issue format. |
| Articles, formation documents and other registry copies [3] [2] [14] | Samþykktir, Stofngögn, Aukatilkynningar and other filed documents. | ISK 1,000 electronically sealed; ISK 1,500 on paper | Company document section or a specific request to the register. |
| Annual or consolidated accounts [6] [3] [7] | Filed financial documents for the selected year and accounts type. | Online ISK 0; paper with summary sheet ISK 1,000 up to 10 pages, then ISK 50 per additional page | Gögn úr ársreikningaskrá and shopping cart; paper through the registry service. |
| Public beneficial ownership information [10] [14] | The legally public subset of personal and control information for covered companies. | Free (ISK 0) | Expand Raunverulegir eigendur on the company page. |
Entities and information covered
The register extends beyond limited companies. Articles 2 and 3 cover self-employed activities, partnerships and cooperatives, among other categories. Non-profit organisations and state or municipal bodies can also appear. A result therefore identifies a registered entity or activity. [1]
Basic results identify the name, Kennitala and legal form. Addresses, incorporation or registration date and industry help confirm the match. The free detailed overview adds board and procuration information. Articles of association and filed changes belong to the separate Gögn úr fyrirtækjaskrá document section. [1] [2] [3] [14]
Guest research and electronic identity
Name search, company details, beneficial ownership information and the free registry overview are accessible without an account. These public services require neither the researcher’s own Kennitala nor Icelandic residence. The Kennitala search field identifies the target company. [14]
The separate tax service offers electronic identity login or Kennitala plus Veflykill, the tax authority’s access key. Official guidance says My Pages on Ísland.is requires an Icelandic identification number and electronic identity. Filing accounts and reading another company’s published accounts use different access routes. [14] [12] [8]
Fees and payment routes
Amounts are in Icelandic krónur, currency code ISK. A certified registration certificate costs ISK 1,500. A specially prepared certificate costs ISK 3,000. The fee table lists ISK 1,000 for an electronically sealed online copy of articles or other registry documents, or ISK 1,500 for a paper copy. [3]
Electronic annual accounts copies cost ISK 0. Paper annual accounts with the summary sheet cost ISK 1,000 for up to ten pages, plus ISK 50 per additional page. Articles 1 and 3 of Regulation 707/2021 expressly distinguish free online publication from paper delivery. [3] [7]
Registry guidance states that the Icelandic online certificate is paid for by payment card. The same current page gives an online banking payment claim as the route for English certificates. The notice dated 11 September 2026 also introduces the new process for filing and registration fees from 14 September 2026. Follow the authority’s current payment instruction for the particular service. [2] [5]
Annual accounts and reporting dates
Entities required to file include ehf., hf. and foreign branches, alongside other organisations and certain partnerships. An existing filing obligation continues even if there was no business activity. Accounts include a balance sheet and income statement. Notes and a board report accompany them. Audit or review information and, where applicable, a cash flow statement are also required. [8]
The ordinary filing deadline is one month after approval by the general meeting, and no later than eight months after the financial year ends. For calendar-year entities, the outer ordinary deadline is 31 August. Accounts prepared under EU-adopted International Financial Reporting Standards follow shorter rules: filing immediately after the meeting, which must take place within four months. Certain micro-entities have a simplified route linked to the tax return deadline. [8]
A shareholder list showing holdings at the financial year end must accompany the accounts. It records a different date and population from ongoing beneficial ownership information. Where an English original is permitted, registry guidance requires an Icelandic translation to accompany it. Check the financial year and submission date of the document actually available. [8] [14]
Beneficial ownership and public access limits
For companies, beneficial ownership includes a natural person holding more than 25% of shares or voting rights. Other forms of control also qualify. Where the relevant person cannot be identified, the statutory fallback can require registration of senior managing persons. The beneficial ownership list is therefore not a complete shareholder list. [9] [10]
Article 7 of Act 82/2019 makes names and month and year of birth public for covered companies. It also allows public access to country of residence, nationality, and the extent and nature of control. These field groups were visible in the guest view. A dash in the ownership field is not a recorded 0% holding. [10] [14]
Changes generally have to be reported within two weeks. Article 8 provides narrower access conditions for trusts, so public company access must not be assumed to cover them. Article 9 protects certain information about minors and persons lacking legal capacity. Statutory exclusions also cover certain public entities and companies listed on regulated markets. [10]
Contracted data access
Free retrieval of individual accounts is separate from contracted access through closed systems or web services. Article 2 of Regulation 707/2021 lists an ISK 195,900 connection fee and ISK 7,800 monthly service fee for that access. A specific agreement is required. These are not fees for one set of annual accounts. [7]
Official samples and reading guides
Official blank beneficial ownership form RSK 17.27
This notification form illustrates the ownership and control criteria and personal information fields collected. It is a filing form, not a sample issued registry extract. The public view contains only the legally disclosable subset. [11] [10]
Avoid common mistakes
- A certified Icelandic online certificate is not automatically an English certificate. The free English overview and the paid certified English request are different services. [2]
- The accounts action may say Kaupa even though the selected electronic copy costs ISK 0. Check the document type and the price in the cart. [3] [14]
Frequently asked questions
Do I need my own Icelandic Kennitala to search?
You do not need to identify yourself for public search. Search by the company’s Kennitala, its identification number, or by name. Ordering confirmed English certificates requires the payer’s Kennitala. [14] [2]
Is English information free?
The detailed registration overview is free and the authority offers it in Icelandic and English. A certified English registration certificate costs ISK 1,500 and requires a separate request. [2]
Do annual accounts cost money?
The online copy is free. Paper with a summary sheet costs ISK 1,000 for up to ten pages and ISK 50 per additional page. Contracted data connections have separate charges. [7]
Original sources
Sources reviewed: 15 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.
- Lög um fyrirtækjaskrá, Nr. 17/2003 Alþingi
- Upplýsingar og vottorð úr fyrirtækjaskrá Skatturinn
- Gjaldskrá fyrirtækjaskrár Skatturinn
- Leit í fyrirtækjaskrá Skatturinn
- Nýtt greiðslufyrirkomulag tilkynningar- og skráningargjalda til fyrirtækjaskrár Skatturinn
- Upplýsingar úr ársreikningaskrá Skatturinn
- Reglugerð Nr. 707/2021: gjald fyrir afhendingu gagna hjá ársreikningaskrá Reglugerðasafn / isländisches Ministerium
- Skil á ársreikningum Skatturinn
- Raunverulegir eigendur Skatturinn
- Lög um skráningu raunverulegra eigenda, Nr. 82/2019 Alþingi
- RSK 17.27: Tilkynning um raunverulega eigendur Skatturinn
- Questions and answers regarding My Pages on Ísland.is Digital Iceland
- Skatturinn: Iceland Revenue and Customs Skatturinn / Ísland.is
- Öffentliche Firmensuche: Suchfelder, Registerübersicht, Jahresabschlüsse und Eigentümer Skatturinn
- Amtliche Suchmaske / Official search form Skatturinn / Ríkisskattstjóri