Search and document delivery at a glance
- Search online
- Yes, free name or number search without an account; further records require an approved client account and payment. [2]
- Digital documents
- Full Access permits filing downloads. The delivery policy provides certificates electronically in the browser with printing available. [2] [4]
- Document language
- Not specified
- Paper and collection
- Self-printing from the browser is provided. A mailed certified paper original is not included in these delivery terms. [4]
- International delivery
- Not specified
- Fees at a glance
- Basic free; full access NZD 5; certificates NZD 15 or 25
- Access
- Basic search without account; records and orders with approved client account
Choose the right register
Choose “Companies & Inc Soc” for companies and incorporated societies. The PPSR concerns security interests and is a separate register section. The Financial Supervisory Commission (FSC) operates separate procedures for International Companies and other international structures. Its USD tariffs do not apply to the justice register described here. [1] [2] [5]
Names and abbreviations explained
- Inc SocIncorporated Societies
- Registered societies searchable through the same portal as companies. [1]
- Full AccessFull access to the public record
- Time-limited access to public details and filings, not unrestricted access to confidential information. [2]
- NZDNew Zealand dollar
- Currency used for Ministry of Justice register-document prices. [3]
Search step by step
Search and order the appropriate document
Search by name or number
Open “Companies & Inc Soc”, then “Entity Search”. Enter the company name or registration number and search. [2]
Check the free identity details
The basic view shows name, status, type, number, registration date and registered office address. Open the profile through “Corp Id”. [2]
Use a client account and select the product
Create a free Company account for details. The Registrar reviews the application and confirms approval by email. Open the identified profile and “Order Documents”. For record access, select “View Company Profile—Full Access”. [2]
Pay and save during the access period
Full access costs NZD 5 and lasts 24 hours. Pay by credit card or available balance. Find completed orders under “My Orders”. Save the filings you need during the access period. [3] [2]
Documents and fees
| Document / information | Contents and purpose | Fee | How to get it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Company Profile—Full Access [2] [3] | All public profile details and images of available filings and attachments. | 5 NZD | Approved Company account; “Order Documents”; 24-hour access. |
| Certificate of Good Standing [2] [3] [4] | Registry status at order time; previous names and other identity details according to the guide. Only available for entities in good standing. | 15 NZD | Order through “Order Documents” in the client account. |
| Certificate of Good Standing—Long Form [2] [3] [4] | Current details including addresses, directors and shareholders or society officers. | 25 NZD | Separate product in the client account. |
| Certified Historical Extract [2] [3] [4] | Current and historical register information, such as former directors or shareholders. | 25 NZD | Order for the selected entity through the client account. |
Distinguish full access from a certificate
Full Access exposes all public profile information and allows images of actual filings and attachments to be downloaded. A good-standing certificate instead confirms registry status on the order date. Its long form adds current details such as addresses, directors and shareholders. The historical extract includes past information as well. [2]
Document prices in NZD
The official table lists NZD 5 for Full Access, NZD 15 for Certificate of Good Standing, NZD 25 for its long form and NZD 25 for Certified Historical Extract. Name and number searches remain free. [3] [2]
Digital delivery and paper requirements
The delivery policy describes electronic delivery in the browser. A print function provides a hard copy. This is self-printing, not a promise to mail an officially certified original. The policy does not specify the file format of every purchased certificate. [4]
International Companies at the FSC
The FSC publishes its own USD forms and fees, including Certificate of Current Status at USD 25 and Lawyer Entity Profile Access Request at USD 15. Check access conditions through the FSC procedure or the relevant registered provider. [5]
Avoid common mistakes
Frequently asked questions
Can I start without an account?
Yes. Name, number, type, status, registration date and address are available through free public search. Details and ordering require an approved account. [2]
Will I automatically receive a paper original?
No. The stated delivery policy describes electronic delivery and self-printing. It does not promise a certified paper original by post. [4]
Original sources
Sources reviewed: 15 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.
- Cook Islands Registry Services Ministry of Justice
- Companies and Incorporated Societies: guidance Ministry of Justice
- Prescribed Forms and Fees Ministry of Justice
- Registry terms: Delivery Policy Ministry of Justice
- FSC: Prescribed Forms and Fees Financial Supervisory Commission