Spain

Spain: free company particulars and official commercial-register documents

Start with the official company directory. Use the Registradores’ Sede Electrónica for detailed register information, accounts or signed certificates. Company name or NIF identifies the business there.

Country guideSources reviewed:
In this country guide
Basic search
Free [1] [2]

Search and document delivery at a glance

Search online
The service description offers the Nota informativa without a subscription. Search by company name or NIF, the Spanish tax identifier. Electronic certificates have separate identification requirements. [8] [3]
Search language
Not specified
Digital documents
The Nota is supplied on the web and through an emailed PDF link. Accounts are available as PDF and, where offered, XBRL. [4] [3] [8]
Document language
Commercial register entries are written in Spanish, as specified in Article 36(1) of the register regulations. [9]
Paper and collection
Not specified
International delivery
Not specified
Fees at a glance
Statutory basic particulars are free. For paid information, the identification block costs about €2.10, with additional blocks or entries often about €0.60 each. Further fees, expenses and taxes may apply. Exact tariff components are set out below.
Access
Information notes and accounts can be ordered as an occasional user without a subscription. Electronic certificates require a valid electronic certificate when using that access route.

Choose the right register

Local commercial registers maintain the authoritative entity records. The Commercial Code gives the central RMC an informational role. Its website directs current electronic document orders to the shared Sede Electrónica and basic enquiries to the open company directory. Checking availability of a proposed company name is a separate incorporation service. [1] [2]

Open company directory

Free particulars. Use the official RMC entry point if direct access fails.

BORME

Official publications and calendar archive.

RCTIR

Applications for beneficial-ownership access.

Names and abbreviations explained

RMCRegistro Mercantil Central
Central Commercial Register providing information and name services. [1] [2]
NIFNúmero de Identificación Fiscal
Tax identifier used to identify a company in document searches. [3]
BORMEBoletín Oficial del Registro Mercantil
Official gazette publishing register entries and corporate notices. [5]
Nota informativa mercantilCommercial-register information note
Selected information blocks for research; a formal register certificate is a separate product. [3] [4]
RCTIRRegistro Central de Titularidades Reales
Central beneficial-ownership register with a separate access procedure. [6]

Documents and fees

Document / informationContents and purposeFeeHow to get it
Free basic particulars [1] [2]Statutory basic dataset, including current governing-body representation.Free.Follow the RMC link to the open directory.
Nota informativa mercantil [3] [4] [8]Selected register information for research.€2.103542 identification block; further scope-dependent fees, plus possible expenses and taxes.Occasional access; web result and PDF link by email.
Format / delivery
Immediate web access. An email also provides a link to download the information as a PDF. [8]
International delivery
Postal delivery is not part of this digital route. [4] [3]
Depósito de cuentas [3]Filed annual accounts and consolidated accounts where applicable.€2.103542 identification block; €0.601012 per filed document, at least five documents; additional register items and taxes apply.Search by name or NIF; choose PDF or available XBRL.
Format / delivery
PDF; XBRL where available. Delivery: Download. [3]
International delivery
Postal delivery is not part of this digital route. [3]
Certificación de vigencia y cargos [3]Formal evidence of company existence and current governing-body representatives.Components include €6.010121 for the presentation entry and €1.502530 for certifying an entry; other tariff items, page charges and taxes may apply.Electronic certificate required for application and download.

Companies, sole traders and competent registers

Coverage includes commercial companies, credit and insurance entities, economic interest groupings and other entities required by law to register. Commercial forms include companies limited by shares and limited liability companies. Under Article 19, sole-trader registration is generally voluntary, with the stated exception for shipowners. An unsuccessful search therefore does not exclude self-employed business activity. [1]

What the information contains

Paid information can include identification, objects, subscribed and paid-up capital, directors, authorised agents, published register acts and accounts filings. A pending application differs from a completed register entry. When checking representation, inspect the actual powers and any requirement for joint action. [3]

How the bill is calculated

The current Sede lists €2.103542 for the identification block and, for example, €0.601012 for capital. For governing-body representatives and agents, €0.601012 applies per relevant entry. Accounts charges include €0.601012 per filed document, with a minimum of five documents in the tariff description. [3]

Formal certificates have a separate tariff. Listed components include €6.010121 for the presentation entry and €1.502530 for certifying an entry; other items and additional pages may apply. Published components exclude taxes. Check the actual payable amount before completing a paid order. [3]

BORME notices and historical leads

BORME’s first section groups register acts by province. The second contains corporate notices, such as meetings and mergers. Its calendar provides older issues. Since 1 January 2009, the electronically signed PDF is the official version. HTML and XML facilitate analysis, but BOE’s guidance distinguishes their status from that of the signed PDF. [5]

Beneficial ownership

The Ministry of Justice offers separate RCTIR applications for eligible third parties, anti-money-laundering obliged entities, and relevant media or organisations. Third parties must demonstrate legitimate interest. Their permitted dataset is limited, including names, birth month and year, nationality, residence country and nature of control. The online procedures start through Cl@ve, Spain’s electronic authentication system. [6] [7]

Official samples and reading guides

Avoid common mistakes

  • Closure of a register sheet for missing accounts filings is not equivalent to deletion of the company. Read the specified special status. [3]

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a subscription?

The Sede permits occasional-user access for information notes and accounts. Formal certificates require an electronic certificate on that route. [3]

Does the open directory contain every company document?

The free dataset is defined by law. Detailed information, full accounts and formal certificates are separate services. [1] [3]

Original sources

Sources reviewed: 14 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.

  1. Código de Comercio, texto consolidado Agencia Estatal BOE
  2. Sociedades inscritas Registro Mercantil Central
  3. Registro Mercantil: servicios y precios Colegio de Registradores de España
  4. Información al usuario y cálculo de honorarios Colegio de Registradores de España
  5. Preguntas frecuentes del BORME Agencia Estatal BOE
  6. Registro Central de Titularidades Reales RCTIR Ministerio de Justicia
  7. Real Decreto 609/2023, texto consolidado Agencia Estatal BOE
  8. Nota informativa mercantil: application, subscription, fees and PDF delivery Colegio de Registradores de España
  9. Reglamento del Registro Mercantil: Article 36(1) Boletín Oficial del Estado