Search and document delivery at a glance
- Search online
- Yes. Free public company search includes directors/shareholders; additional account functions are separate. [3]
- Document language
- Not specified
- Paper and collection
- The tariff lists public copying services, including TOP 10 per A4 page under option (b). Arrange collection or postal delivery separately. [4] [2]
- International delivery
- Not specified
- Fees at a glance
- Basic search free; incorporation certificate free under tariff; special extracts separate
- Access
- Public basic search; client account for additional functions
Choose the right register
Use “Business Entity Search” for existing entities. “Name Availability Search” and “Name Reservation Search” are different tools. A business licence and a company are distinct registrations despite sharing a platform. [1] [6]
Names and abbreviations explained
- MCCTILMinistry of Commerce, Consumer, Trade, Innovation and Labour
- The authority name used by the current registry portal. The December 2024 introduction uses the earlier name MTED. [1] [2]
- TOPTongan paʻanga
- The registry introduction identifies paʻanga as the payment currency. [2]
- Good StandingCurrent registry compliance status
- According to the guide, this certificate requires registration and current annual reporting obligations. [3]
Search step by step
Obtain company information and evidence
Search for the existing entity
Open “Business Entity Search”. Use a name or registration number. Searches include active and inactive entities. [6] [3]
Check basic data and participants
Compare number, type, status and address. The public search guide also includes directors and shareholders for companies and owners for business names. [3]
Choose the appropriate certificate
The tariff lists a free incorporation certificate. Good Standing confirms current status; its long form adds current details. A Certified Historical Extract includes previous information and, according to the guide, can evidence deregistration. [4] [3]
Use an account and payment for additional products
A new client account is free and, according to the introduction, requires current government-issued photo ID. Current guidance describes sign-in with an emailed PIN. For charged products, the amount is shown before payment; listed options include credit card and client balance. [2] [3]
Documents and fees
| Document / information | Contents and purpose | Fee | How to get it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Public basic data [3] [6] | Identity, number, status, type, address and, according to the guide, directors/shareholders or owners. | Free | Use Business Entity Search. |
| Certificate of incorporation or registration [4] [2] | Evidence of incorporation or registration; distinct from a current good-standing certificate. | Free under tariff items 45 and 46 | Use the certificate function for the identified entity; contact the Registrar if the offered product differs. |
| Good Standing, long form or historical extract [3] [2] | Status certificate, current detailed extract or current and historical information. | Described as purchasable products; check the displayed price before ordering. | Order for the selected entity through the client account. |
| Public document copy [4] [2] | Copy or extract from a register document. | Item 47: option (a) free; option (b) TOP 10 per A4 page. | Confirm the copying service and scope with the registry. |
Registers and search coverage
Free basic search includes identity and status data. The guide also includes company directors and shareholders or business-name owners. Accounts add a role search linking people to registered functions. The guide separately describes full records and special document products as paid services. [3]
Distinguish fees by service
The tariff file linked by the portal and dated 2 February 2026 lists inspection under section 369(1), incorporation certificates and registration certificates as free. Item 47 distinguishes a free public-copy option from an option costing TOP 10 per A4 page. The guide separately lists products for purchase such as Good Standing and historical extracts. No prices from another register are applied to those products. [4] [2] [3]
Paper documents and collection
The downloads page describes a move to electronic filings. That rule concerns submissions by entities. The tariff still lists copying services. For an official paper version or overseas delivery, contact the registry at +676 7400 104, Latai Estate, Fasi moe Afi. [5] [4] [1]
Official samples and reading guides
Official introduction to the register (PDF)
Three-page English introduction dated December 2024 covering accounts, searches, certificates and payment. Not a sample of an issued certificate. [2]
Avoid common mistakes
Frequently asked questions
Can I see directors without an account?
Current public guidance includes directors and shareholders in the free company search. A separate person search across associated entities is an additional account feature. [3]
Original sources
Sources reviewed: 15 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.
- Kingdom of Tonga Business Registry Services MCCTIL
- Overview of the New Online Business Entities Registry MTED / Kingdom of Tonga
- Business Entities Registry: official guidance MCCTIL
- Companies: prescribed fees Kingdom of Tonga Business Registry
- Forms / Fees for Download MCCTIL
- Business Entity Search MCCTIL