Costa Rica

Costa Rica: representation, full register certificates and document copies

RNPDigital offers distinct certificates. Personería Jurídica shows legal representation but excludes capital and granted powers of attorney. Choose Literal Rápida for the broader company certificate, or Certificación de Imágenes for the deposited instrument.

Country guideSources reviewed:
In this country guide
Entry
Sign-in required [3] [4]

Search and document delivery at a glance

Search online
Yes: an account provides register queries and certificates. The guide uses company name or Cédula jurídica, and volume/entry for document images. [1] [4]
Search language
The login and official service guide are in Spanish. [3] [1]
Digital documents
Certificates are available to download. Digitally signed archive reports are available through the email request described in this guide. [1]
Document language
Not specified
Paper and collection
Available at central and regional offices. For a required apostille, first have the digital printout signed there by a registry certifying officer. [1] [3]
International delivery
Not specified
Fees at a glance
Literal/index certificate CRC 2,930; archive study CRC 8,500
Access
Email/password account; certificates online or at registry offices

Choose the right register

The Registro de Personas Jurídicas is the legal-person registry. Its official service guide distinguishes representation certificates, fuller company certificates and copies of deposited instruments. Product choice determines the content, charge and processing time. [1]

Names and abbreviations explained

Cédula jurídicaLegal entity identification number
Identifies the company. Do not confuse it with an individual’s identity document number. [1]
Personería JurídicaLegal representation certificate
Shows authorised representatives and representation rules. The guide excludes capital and granted powers of attorney. [1]
Literal RápidaFuller register certificate
Includes governing officers, representation, office, capital and granted powers of attorney. Some cases are excepted. [1]

Documents and fees

Document / informationContents and purposeFeeHow to get it
Literal Rápida de Personas Jurídicas [1] [2] [5]Broader company certificate with governing officers, representation, office, capital and granted powers of attorney.Literal tariff: CRC 2,930 including Archives stamp; other applicable duties extra.Purchase online, enter registry details under Emitir and download. Generally immediate, with exceptions.
Format / delivery
Digital download. Also available at registry offices. [1] [2] [5]
International delivery
Online route provided. [1] [2] [5]
Personería Jurídica [1] [2] [5]Legal representation and other basic details, excluding capital and granted powers of attorney.The current tariff does not separately name Personería. Check the selected product’s price before purchase.Choose the named product, use an account, purchase and issue using the company details.
Format / delivery
Download in the guide; in-person issue also available. Generally immediate, with exceptions. [1] [2] [5]
Document language
Spanish guidance; confirm actual certificate language and any translation required. [1] [2] [5]
International delivery
An apostille may require a printout and signature at a registry office. [1] [2] [5] [3]
Certificación de Imágenes [1] [2] [5]Certified image copy of a deposited public instrument.CRC 2,930 for the first ten pages; additional certificate pages CRC 500 each under the table.Supply volume and entry; check the displayed page count and price before buying. Up to 24 hours online.
Format / delivery
Electronic online issue; immediate counter service under the guide. [1] [2] [5]
Document language
Language of the deposited instrument; no promised official translation. [1] [2] [5]
Estudio Registral de Personas Jurídicas [1] [2] [5]Detailed examination of older entries held in volumes or files outside the automated system.CRC 8,500 in the current schedule; other applicable duties extra.Provide company name, Cédula jurídica, specific request and payment evidence to estudiosregistrales@rnp.go.cr or the registry office.
Format / delivery
Digitally signed result through the described email route; collection for in-person requests. [1] [2] [5]
Document language
Confirm language and file format with the office before ordering. [1] [2] [5]
International delivery
Email request route exists. [1] [2] [5]

Current fees instead of old flat prices

The schedule effective 1 January 2026 lists a final price of CRC 2,930 (Costa Rican colones) for literal and index certificates and certified digitised document copies of up to ten pages. This includes a CRC 5 National Archives stamp. Additional certificate pages are listed at CRC 500. The footnote requires other applicable stamp duties to be added. [2] [5]

Representation and full certificates differ

Personería Jurídica identifies legal representatives, representation rules and other basic details. It expressly excludes capital and granted powers of attorney. Literal Rápida includes those details. The guide describes both as generally immediate services with no mandatory professional intermediary, subject to exceptions. [1]

An image copy of the deposited instrument

Certificación de Imágenes covers the copy of a public instrument submitted or registered with the legal-person registry. The guide identifies records starting at volume 280, entry 11, dated 22 July 1968. If an expected instrument does not appear online, contact rnpdigital@rnp.go.cr with its volume and entry reference. [1]

Request older non-automated records

An Estudio Registral examines entries in older volumes or files outside the automated system. The guide provides an email route through estudiosregistrales@rnp.go.cr with a precise request and proof of payment, describing a digitally signed result. It gives five working days from the following day for the ordinary in-person procedure; regional offices and complex cases can take longer. [1]

Foreign use and apostille are different questions

The terms allow access from abroad and do not impose a general citizenship requirement. The registration form does not ask for a local identity document. For an apostille or authentication, first print the digital certificate and have it signed by a certifying officer at a registry office. Then present it to the foreign ministry. [4] [3]

Paying for documents by card

Pay for RNPDigital certifications with a Visa or Mastercard debit or credit card. The National Registry expressly accepts cards from any issuing bank. Its official FAQ excludes American Express. Statutory stamp charges are calculated automatically during payment. [6]

Avoid common mistakes

  • The RNPDIGITAL-number check on the login page validates an existing certificate. That number is not a company’s Cédula jurídica or a substitute for a company search. [3]
  • Digital certificates may need additional steps for a specific foreign use. The portal requires a certifying officer’s signature on the printout first where an apostille is required. [3]

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a lawyer to order these records?

The guide expressly lists no mandatory professional for Literal Rápida, Personería, document images or archive studies. Account access, payment and any apostille steps remain separate requirements. [1] [4] [3]

Original sources

Sources reviewed: 15 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.

  1. Official corporate-register service guide 2025 Registro Nacional de Costa Rica
  2. Official tariff effective 1 January 2026 Registro Nacional de Costa Rica
  3. RNPDigital login and foreign-use notice Registro Nacional de Costa Rica
  4. RNPDigital registration and service terms Registro Nacional de Costa Rica
  5. Official 2026 tariff: original table cells Registro Nacional de Costa Rica
  6. RNPDigital FAQ: payment for digital certifications Registro Nacional de Costa Rica