Jamaica

Jamaica: free company search, digital certificates and protected documents

The Companies Office of Jamaica provides free basic searches by name or registration number. Detailed information and documents cost extra. A current official notice states that certificates are now issued digitally only. For certain registry documents, the authority describes a protected viewer.

Country guideSources reviewed:
In this country guide
Basic search
Free [1]
Entry
No sign-in [1]

Search and document delivery at a glance

Search online
Free basic name or number search without an account. Advanced search and detailed products incur fees. [1] [2]
Search language
The search and official guidance are in English. [1] [4]
Digital documents
Certificates are issued digitally after email verification. Document viewing uses protected PDFs with Locklizard. [3] [4]
Document language
Not specified
Paper and collection
Blue paper certificates are no longer issued. An older shipping route remains on the website for other paper copies; confirm current availability. [3] [7]
International delivery
Not specified
Fees at a glance
Basic search free; details $50 as listed, confirm currency
Access
Open basic search; separate document services

Choose the right register

COJ means Companies Office of Jamaica. Name search covers companies and business names. Check the related filings to understand the company’s current position. [1] [6]

Names and abbreviations explained

COJCompanies Office of Jamaica
Official registry authority for the described company and business-name services. [6]
LocklizardProtected-document viewer
Official guidance describes protected PDF content using this viewer. Saving, sharing, copying or printing may be restricted. [4]
Letter / Certificate of Good StandingOfficial evidence concerning statutory registry obligations
A separate document, listed independently of basic search and document copies. [6] [2]

Documents and fees

Document / informationContents and purposeFeeHow to get it
Online detailed information [2]Further information on the selected company or business name.50 $Choose the corresponding COJ service and check scope before payment.
Format / delivery
Online display; not a certified issue. [2]
International delivery
Do not infer overseas paper delivery from online availability. [2]
Web Viewer document access [2] [4]Protected access to a registry document.$100 per documentChoose the corresponding COJ service and check scope before payment.
Format / delivery
Protected document using Locklizard according to guidance. [2] [4]
International delivery
Do not infer overseas paper delivery from online availability. [2] [4]
Certified document copy [2] [3]Copy of a specific filing; incorporation certificates have a separate tariff.$150 per page; incorporation certificate $1,000Choose the corresponding COJ service and check scope before payment.
Format / delivery
Digital certificates; confirm delivery format for other copies. [2] [3]
International delivery
Do not infer overseas paper delivery from online availability. [2] [3]
Good Standing certificate [2] [3] [6]Separate evidence concerning registry obligations.$3,000Choose the corresponding COJ service and check scope before payment.
Format / delivery
Digital certificate; email verification required. [2] [3] [6]
International delivery
Do not infer overseas paper delivery from online availability. [2] [3] [6]

Confirm the tariff currency before payment

COJ’s tariff page uses the $ symbol without a currency code. The prices below reproduce that display. Confirm the billing currency before making an overseas payment. [2]

Keep online prices and copying fees separate

Under Website exclusive request, the authority lists $50 for company or business information details and for Entity Advance Search. Web Viewer costs $100 per document; Document Printing costs $25 per page. These prices do not automatically apply to a certified copy. [2]

Tariffs for official copies and certificates

Supply of Information lists $100 per page for an ordinary copy and $150 per page for a certified document copy. A certified incorporation certificate copy costs $1,000. Good Standing, the Registrar’s status report and certain verification letters are each listed at $3,000. The $500 hourly document-inspection tariff is not the price of the free online result list. [2] [1]

Digital does not guarantee a freely shareable PDF

The View Documents instructions identify Locklizard as the required viewer. They describe restrictions on copying, saving, sharing and printing to a PDF file. Ask for a suitable product before purchasing if you need to provide the document to a bank or client. The current certificate notice confirms digital issuance but does not specify a particular freely usable file format. [4] [3]

Current digital notice takes precedence over older delivery wording

COJ’s current notice says it no longer issues blue paper certificates. The website also retains older text about collection and FedEx or Tara courier delivery. Expect digital issuance for certificates. For other paper document copies or overseas shipping, confirm current availability and cost before ordering. [3] [7] [2]

Distinguish named officers from beneficial owners

The search form offers advanced criteria for directors, business-name proprietors, shareholders and company secretaries. COJ’s privacy policy expressly limits that information to entitled persons. [1] [7]

Avoid common mistakes

  • For order questions, COJ lists custsupport@orcjamaica.com. Identify the product, registration number and intended use, especially if the file must be shared. [7]

Original sources

Sources reviewed: 15 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.

  1. Fees Companies Office of Jamaica
  2. Digital certificates only Companies Office of Jamaica
  3. View Documents Companies Office of Jamaica
  4. Subscriber Registration Companies Office of Jamaica
  5. Companies Office of Jamaica Companies Office of Jamaica
  6. Policies Companies Office of Jamaica