Cayman Islands

Cayman Islands: research reports, director lists and restricted certificates

General Registry offers online company reports to registered users. Its tariff lists KYD 30 for a general search and KYD 50 each for a detailed search or inspection of current directors. Official certificates are separate: most may only be ordered by company principals or authorised personnel.

Country guideSources reviewed:
In this country guide
Entry
Sign-in required [1] [2]

Search and document delivery at a glance

Search online
With an account, you can obtain “Basic Information”, a director list and a “Detailed Search Report”. [1] [2]
Search language
The login page and official instructions are in English. [2] [1]
Digital documents
Online reports through the research service; entitled CBP users retrieve ordered documents under “Documents Received”. [1] [3]
Document language
Not specified
Paper and collection
Not specified
International delivery
Not specified
Fees at a glance
Search KYD 30; details or directors KYD 50 each
Access
Research account; certificates require authority

Choose the right register

Under “Online Payments and Services”, the registry offers “Basic Information”, a director list and a “Detailed Search Report”. The detailed report summarises constitutional documents. These products do not confer general access to all filed documents or shareholder records. [1] [3]

Names and abbreviations explained

KYD / CI$Cayman Islands dollar
Currency of the “Fee (CI)” column. The table also shows USD equivalents; KYD 50 is not USD 50. [5]
CBPCayman Business Portal
Administration portal for local companies. The applicant must be connected with the company, which must be linked to their account. It is not a general third-party company archive. [3]
CORISCayman Online Registry Information System
Access for licensed corporate service providers to companies they administer. [1]
LIALegitimate Interest Access
Separate application-based access to beneficial ownership information where legitimate interest is demonstrated. [6] [7]

Documents and fees

Document / informationContents and purposeFeeHow to get it
General search [1] [5] [4]Registry information, separate from a detailed report and director list.30 KYDRegistered research user.
Format / delivery
Digital provision available. [1] [5] [4]
International delivery
Confirm international paper delivery separately with the registry. [1] [5] [4]
Detailed Search Report [1] [5]Summary of constitutional documents.50 KYDRegistered research user.
Format / delivery
Digital provision available. [1] [5]
International delivery
Confirm international paper delivery separately with the registry. [1] [5]
Current director list [1] [5] [4]Names of current directors and applicable alternate directors.50 KYDPaid public inspection, subject to registry conditions.
Format / delivery
Digital provision available. [1] [5] [4]
International delivery
Confirm international paper delivery separately with the registry. [1] [5] [4]
Good Standing / Existence / Incumbency [3] [5] [4]Separate official certificate for each purpose.KYD 150 per standard certificate in tariffGenerally company principals or authorised personnel only.
Format / delivery
Digital provision available. [3] [5] [4]
International delivery
Confirm international paper delivery separately with the registry. [3] [5] [4]

Who may order official certificates

The FAQ restricts certificates to company principals or authorised personnel, except termination certificates such as strike-off or dissolution. Entitled users use CBP for local companies without a corporate service provider, or the service-provider system. An authorised person without portal access may apply through GRManual@gov.ky with written authority and pay by electronic transfer. [3]

Directors, shareholders and removed companies

Section 55A of the Companies Act permits paid inspection of current directors’ names and, where applicable, current alternate directors. The FAQ does not promise historical director lists. The register of members is not publicly accessible at the Registrar. The FAQ restricts public documents for companies removed from the register, with separate exceptions for court orders and law-enforcement requests. [4] [3]

Beneficial owners: justified application rather than unrestricted search

The March 2026 guide identifies journalists, bona fide academic researchers, relevant civil society organisations and people with a potential or actual business relationship. A qualifying interest must additionally serve a stated anti-money-laundering or counter-terrorist-financing purpose. Searches are by legal person, not an individual’s name. An ordinary company-search account is insufficient. [7]

Application and fees for ownership information

Indicate your intention to apply to bo-lia@gov.ky. The authority provides a secure file exchange for forms and supporting evidence. The guide lists KYD 75 for one legal person, KYD 100 for connected legal persons and KYD 250 for multiple applications within one year. Fees are non-refundable. Follow the instructions for your application: the March guide specifies transfers, while the current overview also mentions online payments for selected LIA applications. [6] [7] [1]

Verify a certificate

According to the FAQ, Companies Registry certificates display an authentication code, website address and issue date at the bottom right. Verification is available at verify.ky. Match the certificate against the verification result. The FAQ gives Good Standing certificates no fixed expiry; the recipient decides what issue date it accepts. [3]

Avoid common mistakes

  • LIA instructions expressly require personal and confidential documents to use the secure file exchange. The general contact email is initially for stating the intention to apply. [7]

Original sources

Sources reviewed: 15 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.

  1. Online Tools Cayman Islands General Registry
  2. Company search sign-in Cayman Islands General Registry / eGov
  3. General Registry FAQs Cayman Islands General Registry
  4. Companies Act (2026 Revision) Cayman Islands Government
  5. Companies fee schedule Cayman Islands General Registry
  6. Beneficial Ownership Legitimate Interest Access Cayman Islands General Registry
  7. Legitimate Interest Access instructions, March 2026 Cayman Islands General Registry