Mauritius

Company registers in Mauritius

Search CBRD free of charge by company name, file number or business registration number. Domestic profiles may also show officers, shareholders and financial figures. Official copies and Global Business company information have separate access rules.

Country guideSources reviewed:
In this country guide
Basic search
Free [1] [4] [12]
Entry
No sign-in [12]

Search and document delivery at a glance

Search online
Yes. CBRIS provides public search results and company details without an account; protected company records remain restricted. [12] [5]
Search language
The CBRIS search interface and results are in English. [12]
Digital documents
An XBRL accounts file is available as a separate product. The ordering instructions do not confirm a PDF download of an ordered Extract of File. [8] [2]
Document language
Not specified
Paper and collection
For an Extract of File and a signed incorporation certificate, CBRD specifies counter collection in Port Louis. An online application through MNS does not change that delivery instruction. [2] [3]
International delivery
Not specified
Fees at a glance
Online search free. File extract and Current Standing certificate MUR 100 each; signed incorporation certificate MUR 300. XBRL accounts file MUR 500; certified paper copy MUR 1,500.
Access
Public search requires no account or Mauritian identity. Document orders are separate; CBRD refers online applicants to MNS. Private Global Business and Authorised Companies have restricted file access.

Choose the right register

CBRD is the company and business registration authority within the Ministry of Finance. Its free search links to the system operated by Mauritius Network Services. Start with this primary source to establish the correct name, number and register category. [1] [12]

A free company profile is structured register information. A signed official record, a constitution copy and full financial statements are separate products. The information displayed depends on the company category. [12] [2] [8]

CBRIS Online Search

Free company search

CBRD Request for Documents

Official document request procedures and fees

MNS CBRIS Registration

Account for company filings and payments

FSC Online Public Register

Public financial-services licensing register

Names and abbreviations explained

CBRDCorporate and Business Registration Department
The authority responsible for company and business registration. [1]
CBRIS / MNSCompanies and Businesses Registration Integrated System / Mauritius Network Services
The register system and its technical provider. Public search and filing use separate entry points. [4] [12]
BRN / File No.Business Registration Number / File Number
The business registration identifier and the register file number respectively. The search offers distinct criteria for them. [12]
BO / UBOBeneficial Owner / Ultimate Beneficial Owner
A natural person who ultimately owns or controls the company. A registered shareholder may instead be another company. [5] [12]
FSC / GBLFinancial Services Commission / Global Business Licence
FSC is the financial regulator; GBL is a specific Global Business licensing status. It affects file access and where accounts are filed. [5] [13]
XBRLeXtensible Business Reporting Language
A structured format for financial reporting. The fee regulations distinguish the electronic file from a certified paper copy. [8]
MUR / RsMauritian rupee
MUR identifies the currency; official fee schedules also use Rs. [6] [12]

Documents and fees

Document / informationContents and purposeFeeHow to get it
Public company profile [1] [12]Structured register information; appropriate Domestic profiles can include officers, shareholders and financial figures.MUR 0Online without an account; scope varies by category.
Format / delivery
Browser view [12]
Document language
The CBRIS search interface and results are in English. [12]
Extract of File / Certificate of Current Standing [2]A file extract or a separate certificate of current standing.MUR 100 each under current CBRD instructions.Signed request; no more than three working days after payment. Collect the extract at the counter.
Format / delivery
Extract of File: counter collection. Confirm delivery of the Certificate of Current Standing separately. [2]
Signed incorporation certificate [2] [7]Signed copy of the Certificate of Incorporation under section 14(2)(a).MUR 300 for the signed copy.Apply to CBRD; no more than three working days after payment, with collection.
Format / delivery
Signed copy: counter collection. [2]
General copy tariff: constitution or financial statements [6] [5]A copy or extract of an existing filed document; XBRL documents have the separate tariff below.MUR 400 under the Second Schedule for the CBRIS route; MUR 500 under First Schedule Part II for the general route.Specify the document and period; statutory access restrictions still apply.
Other document copy and certification [6]Another filed-document copy or a separate certification of conformity.Copy MUR 100 through CBRIS / MUR 200 generally; separate certification MUR 100 / MUR 200.Distinguish the requested copy from certification.
XBRL financial statements [8] [5]An electronic accounts file or certified paper copy of accounts submitted in XBRL.MUR 500 electronically; MUR 1,500 for the certified paper copy.Separate request; the tariff does not release restricted company documents.
Format / delivery
XBRL file or certified paper copy on request. [8]
Special CBRIS report under section 14(10) [8] [5]A report or extract from stored CBRIS information on a special written request.MUR 3,000Specify the information required to CBRD; distinguish this from a basic Extract of File.

Domestic and international company categories

The register distinguishes categories including Domestic and Authorised Company, as well as Private and Public. It also offers a separate Search Other Businesses entry point. Establish the category before treating absent fields as missing filings. [12]

Under section 14(7), ordinary file-inspection rights for a private company holding a Global Business Licence or an Authorised Company are restricted to specified connected persons: shareholders, officers, its management company or registered agent. Other people may request certain basic information under section 14(8), including name, registered office, management company or agent, proof of incorporation, legal form, status, basic regulating powers and the list of directors. [5]

For financial service providers, add the FSC public register of licensees to the company search. Its filters include name, activity, legislation and category. Its stated coverage includes specified domestic licensees and Global Business entities licensed for financial services or financial business. It is not an exhaustive list of every Global Business company. [13]

Access from outside Mauritius

Public search and company details are available without an account or local identity. Any person may request the general document products for Domestic Companies. Separate statutory restrictions apply to other company categories. [12] [3] [5]

The MNS account-registration notice addresses companies, service providers and authorised company representatives undertaking filing and payments. It offers a passport option for non-citizens and a National Identity Card option for Mauritian citizens. This is not a promise that an unrelated researcher will obtain subscriber access to every company file. [12]

Annual returns, financial figures and accounts

An Annual Return is a register return; Financial Statements are accounting documents. Public details may show return dates, accounting periods and structured profit-and-loss and balance-sheet figures. Full documents, including notes and the auditor’s report, need to be obtained separately. [12] [5]

Section 215 distinguishes ordinary financial-statement filing from simplified summaries for small private companies. Small Private Company generally requires turnover below MUR 100 million in the preceding accounting period; Global Business Licence holders and specified entities under the Financial Reporting Act are excluded. Under section 215(3B), qualifying small companies may file a cash-basis profit-and-loss summary. A complete balance sheet should therefore not be expected for every company. [5]

Section 215(3A) provides a specific eight-year exemption from incorporation for enterprises registered under the Small and Medium Enterprises Development Authority Act on or after 2 June 2015. It requires annual turnover not exceeding MUR 20 million and no net assets or net assets not exceeding MUR 50 million. Section 223(1B) exempts small private companies up to its stated MUR 100 million turnover limit from the annual return unless the relevant particulars change. [5]

Under section 215(4), companies holding a Global Business Licence file their financial statements and auditor’s report with the FSC. That filing does not create general public access to the documents. The restrictions in section 14 remain relevant. [5]

Treat beneficial ownership separately

CBRD maintains a central beneficial ownership register. Its purposes include access for competent authorities and law enforcement. A public Shareholders table instead shows registered shareholdings and may include aggregated entries. [10] [12]

Section 14(11) limits disclosure of the personal beneficial-ownership particulars under section 91(3)(a)(ii). Its wording provides for requests of the beneficial owner, investigation, enquiry or any other matter, and court orders. A specific request requires the relevant legal access route to be addressed with CBRD. [5]

The definition updated in 2026 considers shares, voting rights and effective control through other means. The official blank BO form illustrates the information collected and the control categories. It is a filing form, not a publicly accessible beneficial-owner list. [5] [11]

For the shareholding criterion, the accompanying regulation specifies 20%. For financial institutions, it instead refers to Significant Interest as defined in the Banking Act. Other forms of control remain relevant under the statutory BO definition. [14] [5]

Fees and what they cover

Both the CBRD homepage and MNS state that electronic searches are free. For official documents, the regulations distinguish the general route from electronic applications payable through CBRIS. Current ordering instructions quote MUR 100 for their Extract of File and MUR 300 for a signed incorporation certificate. [1] [4] [2] [7]

GN 126/2023 adds distinct products: a special CBRIS report under section 14(10) at MUR 3,000, an XBRL accounts file at MUR 500 and a certified paper copy of accounts submitted in XBRL at MUR 1,500. GN 90/2025 changes companies’ annual registration fees; it is not a new price for obtaining a file extract. [8] [9]

Amounts below are the official tariff items. A copy and separate certification are distinct services. Obtain a total for a combined request; international postage, translation or an apostille are not shown here as included. [6] [7] [8]

For an online request, also confirm whether MNS charges a separate service fee for the filing route you choose. [4] [2]

Official samples and reading guides

Avoid common mistakes

  • An empty Charges or Removal/Winding Up panel is not general evidence of freedom from debt or proceedings. The public view expressly disclaims completeness and accuracy. [12]
  • An Authorised Company can expose a smaller public dataset. [12] [5]
  • MNS filing registration is unnecessary for the free public search. Authority to make filings for a company must be distinguished from third-party research access. [12] [3]

Frequently asked questions

Can I search free of charge from abroad?

Yes. Guest access lets you open company details without local proof of identity or sign-in. Official orders and protected data have additional requirements. [12] [5]

Will I see the real owners?

Domestic profiles may show registered shareholders. These can be other companies or aggregated entries. Beneficial ownership is a separate, legally restricted information set. [12] [5] [10]

Why are complete accounts missing?

Some small private companies may file simplified financial summaries. Global Business accounts go to the FSC. Public display and entitlement to document copies are also separate questions. [5] [12]

Original sources

Sources reviewed: 15 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.

  1. Corporate and Business Registration Department: Home CBRD
  2. Request for Documents CBRD
  3. Request for Documents: application eligibility and online filing CBRD
  4. CBRIS pricing Mauritius Network Services Ltd
  5. Companies Act 2001: CBRD annotated version of 15 May 2026 CBRD
  6. Companies (Payment of Fees to Registrar) Regulations 2015, GN 3/2016 CBRD / Government Gazette
  7. Companies (Payment of Fees to Registrar) Amendment, GN 118/2017 CBRD / Government Gazette
  8. Companies (Payment of Fees to Registrar) Amendment, GN 126/2023 CBRD / Government Gazette
  9. Companies (Payment of Fees to Registrar) Amendment, GN 90/2025 CBRD / Government Gazette
  10. Beneficial Ownership Transparency CBRD
  11. Information Details for Beneficial Ownership: blank form dated 25 August 2026 CBRD
  12. CBRIS public search and filing-account registration CBRD / Mauritius Network Services Ltd
  13. FSC Online Public Register: Register of Licensees Financial Services Commission Mauritius
  14. Companies (Beneficial Owner) (Percentage of Shares) Regulations 2019: updated official copy CBRD / Government Gazette