Pakistan

Company registers in Pakistan

Company records are held by the Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan (SECP), through its regional Company Registration Offices. A system-generated company profile costs 200 Pakistani rupees (PKR); an electronically certified profile costs PKR 1,000. Filed returns are the relevant records for shareholders, officers and earlier changes.

Country guideSources reviewed:
In this country guide

Search and document delivery at a glance

Search online
To request another company’s documents, sign in to eZfile. Under “Digital Certified true copy”, search by company name or CUIN, the unique company identification number. [5]
Search language
Not specified
Digital documents
SECP offers digitally certified copies of filed company documents. After finding the company, choose the relevant eServices or eZfile records, select the documents and pay the displayed fee. [5]
Document language
Not specified
Paper and collection
Not specified
International delivery
Not specified
Fees at a glance
Profile: PKR 200; electronically certified profile: PKR 1,000; copies priced by document and delivery format.
Access
Apply to the responsible registration office for inspection and copies; eZfile provides electronic services.

Choose the right register

SECP is Pakistan’s corporate and financial markets regulator. Its regional Company Registration Offices, or CROs, maintain the register of companies incorporated in Pakistan (Register R-1) and the register of foreign companies with a registered presence in Pakistan (Register R-2). Both include a list of filed documents. [1] [4]

Section 462(5) of the Companies Act allows any person to inspect records and obtain certified copies or extracts for a fee. You do not need to be a shareholder. Certification establishes that a copy corresponds to the filed record; it does not independently verify the truth of every statement made by the company. [3] [1]

SECP: company registration offices

Addresses and contact details for the Company Registration Offices. Select the office holding the company’s file.

eZfile

Order digital certified copies of another company’s records after signing in. Search by company name or CUIN.

Official fee schedule

Current charges for inspection, document copies and system-generated reports, with separate electronic and physical columns.

Names and abbreviations explained

SECPSecurities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan
Authority responsible for the company registers and their regional registration offices. [1] [4]
CROCompany Registration Office
Regional registration office. The relevant office is the one holding the company’s file; a change of registered office can transfer the file to another CRO. [1]
CUINCorporate Unique Identification Number
Unique registry identifier assigned to Pakistani companies and registered foreign companies. Previous registration numbers are replaced with a CUIN. [1]
Private company / public companyCompany categories under the Companies Act
A private company’s articles restrict share transfers and prohibit public invitations to subscribe. Membership is generally limited to 50, excluding employees. A public company is a company that is not private. Public does not necessarily mean government-owned; public sector company is a separate category. [3]
SMCSingle Member Company
A company with one member. Some annual filing requirements have specific exemptions for this category. [3]
Annual Return / Form AAnnual registry return
A dated return of company and ownership particulars. It is not a set of financial statements, although the current form asks for some financial indicators. [3] [1]
CTCCertified True Copy
Certified copy of a document held by the registration office. Under regulation 87, computer-generated certified copies do not require a handwritten signature or a physical official seal. [1]
UBOUltimate Beneficial Owner
The natural person ultimately owning at least 25% of shares or voting rights, directly or indirectly, or exercising effective control by other means. [3] [1]

Documents and fees

Document / informationContents and purposeFeeHow to get it
Company Profile: system-generated [2] [1]An initial company overview. Request specific filings separately where historical particulars matter.PKR 200 electronically or physically, under item VII(2).Request the system-generated profile from the responsible registration office and state any certification requirement.
Company Profile: electronically certified [2] [1]An electronically certified system-generated profile, separately priced from the ordinary profile.PKR 1,000 under item VI(7)(i).Select or request the electronically certified report expressly.
Certificate of Incorporation and other certificates [2] [1]Certified copy of the incorporation certificate or another existing registry certificate. Incorporation evidence gives the company kind, registration and CUIN at formation.PKR 100 electronically; PKR 600 physically, under item VI(1).Apply to the office holding the file for a copy of the specific certificate.
Memorandum and Articles of Association [2] [1]The company’s constitutional documents. Identify the required version and date if they have been amended.Private limited company: PKR 250 electronically or PKR 1,500 physically. Other companies: PKR 500 electronically or PKR 3,000 physically, under items VI(2)–(3).Request a certified copy of the original or amended version held on file.
Form A and other returns excluding financial statements [2] [1]Annual return or a particular change filing. Form A includes capital, shareholders and directors; Form 9 concerns officers and designated functions.Private limited company: PKR 100 electronically or PKR 600 physically. Other companies: PKR 200 electronically or PKR 900 physically, under items VI(4)–(5).Specify the form, company and required year or filing date.
Financial statement, register extract or other document [2] [1] [3]Copy of an actually filed financial statement, register or other existing document outside the separately priced categories.PKR 20 per page or part-page, minimum PKR 100; same electronic and physical rates, under item VI(6).Identify the existing document and period. There is no general financial-statement coverage for small private companies.
Outstanding Mortgage/Charge Register [2] [1]Electronically certified report of the company’s outstanding registered security interests. A charge is a registered security over assets.PKR 2,000 under item VI(7)(ii).Request the electronically certified report of outstanding charges or mortgages.
Company Officers Details [2] [1]Electronically certified system-generated report concerning the company’s recorded officers.PKR 200 under item VI(7)(iii).Request the report by its product name; select the actual filings as well for historical changes.
Company detail: name, address and capital [2]Electronically certified report concerning the company’s name, address and capital. The fee schedule groups these particulars in one item.PKR 200 under item VI(7)(iv).Request the report concerning name, address and capital. This is an information fee, not a name-reservation fee.
File inspection [2] [1]Inspection of existing registry records, separate from ordering copies to retain.Foreign company: PKR 500; private company: PKR 1,100; public company: PKR 2,000. Same electronic and physical tariff rates under item V.Apply to the responsible registration office. In-person inspection is supervised during business hours.

Registers and company categories covered

Register R-1 covers companies incorporated in Pakistan. Its prescribed fields include name, CUIN, incorporation date, sector, company kind, registered office, status and capital structure. The active/inactive field is a registry status. [1]

Register R-2 covers companies incorporated abroad that are registered in Pakistan. It also records the country of origin, registration there and principal place of business in Pakistan. The Pakistani file therefore does not replace the company’s home-country registry file. [1]

Follow shareholders and officers

The current Form A includes the registered office, capital, officers, directors, shareholders or members, and transfers since the previous return. Directors are members of the company’s governing board; the company secretary is the officer responsible for corporate administrative functions. Form 9 records the particulars and changes of the relevant officers and functions. [1]

Form A is a snapshot at a specified date. Check that date and any later filings. Where the particulars are unchanged, a Form 24 notification may replace a new Form A. Single member companies and private companies with paid-up capital of no more than PKR 3 million are also exempt from that notification if the particulars remain unchanged. [3] [1]

Financial statements and coverage limits

Under section 233, listed companies must file their adopted audited financial statements within 30 days of the annual general meeting. Other companies covered by the requirement have 15 days. Private companies with paid-up capital of no more than PKR 10 million are exempt from this filing requirement; the Act allows SECP to increase that threshold. [3]

The former additional requirement to file unaudited financial statements under section 234 was repealed on 1 December 2021. Missing accounts for a small private company may therefore reflect a statutory exemption. Form A, expanded in July 2025, asks for annual turnover and employee numbers, but is not a complete set of financial statements. [3] [1]

For accounts that are available, the general copy fee is PKR 20 per page or part-page, with a minimum of PKR 100. Listed companies must also prepare quarterly financial statements under section 237 and publish them on their own websites. [3] [2]

Check ultimate beneficial ownership separately

The shareholder list initially shows direct ownership. An ultimate beneficial owner is the natural person ultimately holding at least 25% of shares or voting rights, or exercising effective control by other means. Where corporate shareholders intervene, the ownership chain needs to be followed further. [3] [1]

Companies must maintain current information about their ultimate beneficial owners. Regulation 48A, added in July 2025, also provides for SECP’s central Register R-9. Information is submitted at registration and through Form 19; the annual requirement applies to financial years ending on or after 30 June 2025. [1] [3]

Begin your research with accessible shareholder and change filings. [1] [3]

Research from outside Pakistan

The statutory right to inspect records and request copies applies to “any person” and does not require share ownership. Practical arrangements depend on the selected service and the CRO holding the file. SECP lists regional contacts and a separate contact for international correspondence. [3] [4]

In-person inspection takes place at the registration office. For an electronic copy or delivery abroad, specify the exact document, desired format and destination country. [1] [2] [4]

Processing periods and evidential value

Annexure J specifies one day for certified copies applied for and issued electronically, and three days for physical copies. Inspection is assigned one hour electronically and two days physically. These periods are subject to regulation 78; technical problems, peak filing periods and disputes or investigations can take a case outside those periods. For same-day processing, regulation 78 generally requires receipt by noon; later submissions count towards the next working day. [1]

Under section 462(6), properly certified copies or extracts can have the same evidential validity as originals in proceedings. This is not blanket recognition for every foreign purpose. Select the document and any additional formalities required by the authority receiving it. [3]

Official samples and reading guides

Avoid common mistakes

  • The “Foreign company” fee category refers to the company being researched, not to an overseas purchaser. [2] [1]
  • An ordinary PKR 200 profile and an electronically certified PKR 1,000 profile are different tariff items. [2]
  • An incorporation certificate establishes formation. Use the relevant filed returns for current shareholders and officers. [1]
  • A certified copy may carry qualifications about disputed or incorrect particulars. Read those remarks with the document. [1]

Frequently asked questions

Must I be a shareholder or Pakistani citizen?

Section 462(5) gives inspection and copy rights to any person. Arrange payment and delivery with the responsible CRO. [3] [4]

What should I order to identify owners?

Start with the latest Form A and any subsequent changes. It lists shareholders or members. If these include other companies, follow the chain further. An ultimate beneficial owner is the underlying natural person; a basic profile alone is insufficient evidence. [1] [3]

Why might a private company have no filed accounts?

Private companies with paid-up capital of no more than PKR 10 million are exempt under section 233(3). Section 234, on filing unaudited accounts, was repealed in 2021. A complete registry file may therefore contain no such accounts. [3]

Is an electronic copy without a stamp unusable?

No. Regulation 87 exempts computer-generated certificates and certified copies from handwritten signatures and physical official seals. Also check the requirements of the organisation that will receive your copy. [1]

Is Form A a set of financial statements?

No. It is the annual registry return. The current form also asks for annual turnover and employee numbers. [1] [3]

Original sources

Sources reviewed: 15 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.

  1. Companies Regulations, 2024, updated through 25 July 2025, reviewed 14 April 2026 Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan (SECP)
  2. Seventh Schedule: Table of Fees, effective 20 April 2026 Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan (SECP)
  3. Companies Act, 2017, consolidated through 18 August 2022 Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan (SECP)
  4. SECP Contact Us: Company Registration Offices Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan (SECP)
  5. SECP: eZfile FAQ, digitale beglaubigte Kopien Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan