Trinidad & Tobago

Trinidad and Tobago: free name search, CROS and official copies

Public name search displays companies, business names and name reservations without an account. CROS provides separate paid access to company records. The authority describes official copy requests as a registry-counter procedure.

Country guideSources reviewed:
In this country guide
Basic search
Free [1]
Entry
No sign-in [1]

Search and document delivery at a glance

Search online
Name search without an account. Company records are available through the separate paid CROS service. [1] [2] [5]
Search language
Search, results and official guidance are in English. [1] [2]
Digital documents
CROS offers downloads of individual documents and company files. [2]
Document language
Not specified
Paper and collection
Copy requests are submitted at the registry counter with payment at the cashier. Confirm issue format and collection timing before applying. [6]
International delivery
Not specified
Fees at a glance
Name search free; ordinary copy TTD 5 per page
Access
Open basic search; records research with an account

Choose the right register

CROS means Companies Registry Online System. The Registrar General’s Department portal handles registry research and filings. A Companies Registry Account (CRA) is the personal access account. Its login page expressly links to a name search that does not require an account. [2] [3] [1]

Names and abbreviations explained

CROSCompanies Registry Online System
Online portal for registry procedures and Public Record Search. [2]
CRACompanies Registry Account
Personal account with verified identity, login credentials and a balance for paid transactions. [3] [5]
Name ReservationReserved entity name
Reservations also appear in name search. They are not an incorporated or registered company. [1]

Documents and fees

Document / informationContents and purposeFeeHow to get it
Public name-search result [1]Name, type, identifiers, address, registration date and status.FreeChoose the appropriate search or copy service.
Format / delivery
Online display; not a certified copy. [1]
Document language
English portal; confirm the copy’s issue language. [1]
International delivery
International shipping not promised. [1]
Ordinary document copy [6] [7]Copy of a specific accessible registry filing.TTD 5 per page or part-pageChoose the appropriate search or copy service.
Document language
English portal; confirm the copy’s issue language. [6] [7]
International delivery
International shipping not promised. [6] [7]
Certified document copy [6] [7]Officially certified copy, subject to statutory access limits.Conflict: TTD 20 or 100 per page; confirm before orderingChoose the appropriate search or copy service.
Format / delivery
Counter application with fee payment. [6] [7]
Document language
English portal; confirm the copy’s issue language. [6] [7]
International delivery
International shipping not promised. [6] [7]

Which records provide further information

The free list does not display a complete director or shareholder history. The FAQ describes company files as paid research. Annual returns and notices concerning directors and the secretary are relevant to named-person information. Choose the filing for the date you need. An annual return is not a tax return. [1] [5]

Copy fee clear; conflicting certification fees

The service guide and official-hosted legislation compilation both list TTD 5 per page or part-page for an ordinary copy. Certification differs: the service guide lists TTD 20 per page, while the fee table on PDF page 682 lists TTD 100. The table identifies amendment 235/2024; the supplied compilation also bears an UNOFFICIAL watermark. Confirm the current price before ordering a certified copy. The table lists company-file examination at TTD 100; this is not the price of free name search. [6] [7] [1]

Request official copies at the counter

Anyone may request copies or certified copies of eligible records against payment, subject to statutory exceptions. Download and complete the form, submit it at the Companies Registry Counter and pay cash at the cashier. [6]

The CROS overview additionally lists certified-copy applications and document downloads as account functions. The copy-service page still describes the counter route. For a certified order, confirm whether the required issue can be delivered entirely online. [2] [6]

Do not confuse legacy subscriptions with free registration

The FAQ quotes a minimum TTD 500 payment for the older subscription route. The current CRA registration page expressly says registration is free. CRA guidance separately covers account balances and transfer of legacy subscription funds. Registration therefore does not automatically provide free document access. [5] [4] [3]

Avoid common mistakes

  • A Name Reservation result may show an expired reservation date. Check the type before treating it as evidence of a registered entity. [1]

Original sources

Sources reviewed: 15 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.

  1. Companies Registry Online System Companies Registry
  2. Companies Registry Account Companies Registry
  3. Register for a Companies Registry Account Registrar General’s Department
  4. Frequently Asked Questions Companies Registry
  5. Requests for Copies and Certificates Companies Registry
  6. Companies Act and subsidiary legislation Office of the Attorney General and Ministry of Legal Affairs