Kenya

Company registers in Kenya

Request an official company search from the Business Registration Service through eCitizen. Select “Official Search (CR12)” for a company. The report costs 650 Kenyan shillings and provides director and shareholder information. Financial statements and beneficial ownership information have separate access routes.

Country guideSources reviewed:
In this country guide
Entry
Sign-in required [2]

Search and document delivery at a glance

Search online
BRS Official Search uses an eCitizen account. The CMA reports view is accessible without an account. [14] [15] [2]
Search language
Not specified
Digital documents
The CMA portal provides public financial reports as PDFs for viewing and download. [14] [15] [18] [11]
Document language
Not specified
Paper and collection
Not specified
International delivery
Not specified
Fees at a glance
Company official search CR12: 650 Kenyan shillings (KES); CMA reports portal free
Access
eCitizen account for registry searches; BRS manual describes visitor registration with a passport

Choose the right register

The Business Registration Service (BRS) operates the Companies Registry. Its services cover companies and registered business names. An official search for a company is called “Official Search (CR12)”. BRS calls the corresponding business-name output “CR13”. Select the service for the registered entity type. [1] [3]

Invest Kenya describes CR12 as a publicly requestable report on a registered company. An eCitizen account and the search fee are nevertheless part of the process. [5] [2] [13]

BRS: Companies Registry

Official entry point explaining registration categories and linking to services.

BRS through eCitizen: company search

FAQ entry point for Official Search (CR12); sign-in required.

BRS Version 2

Current service portal for sign-in, payment and output documents. Select the service for the entity type.

BRS: fee schedule

Company and business-name search charges; note the conflicting repeated rows.

CMA: free annual reports

Public listed-company report folders organised by sector and company.

BRS: verify an existing document

Verification form requiring service type and application number; not a company-name search.

Names and abbreviations explained

BRSBusiness Registration Service
Kenya’s authority for the Companies Registry. Its other registries include movable-property security rights and insolvency proceedings. [1] [12]
eCitizenGovernment online service account
The account used to access BRS services, submit an application and pay the applicable fee. [2] [12]
CR12 / Official SearchOfficial company search report
A computer-generated report on a company. CR12 is also the number of a different statutory form. For research, select the service expressly labelled Official Search. [2] [16]
CR13 / Business NameOfficial search for a registered business name
BRS uses CR13 for the output of its business-name search. This is a different registration category from a company search. [3]
VerifiedRegistry record confirmed for automatic output
Only this status produces the automated CR12 report in the documented procedure. BRS provides a processing period for unverified records. [2] [3]
Director and ShareholderCompany officer and share owner
Directors manage the company; shareholders hold its shares. CR12 describes both roles. A person can hold both roles. [5] [2]
Company SecretaryFormal company office
An office responsible for company administration and registry matters. BRS distinguishes it from directors and shareholders; appointment and changes have separate forms. [16] [2]
File PerusalInspection of the registry file
An application to inspect filed records. The official guide describes a registry visit after processing. [7]
Annual ReturnAnnual company particulars filing
A statement of company particulars, such as officers and capital. Distinguish it from financial documents attached or filed separately where required. [8] [16]
BOF6 and BOF7Beneficial Ownership Search Request and Official Search Report
BOF6 is the beneficial ownership search application. BOF7 is the prescribed report. Access is legally restricted. [9]
CMACapital Markets Authority
Kenya’s capital markets regulator. Its Resource Centre provides annual reports of listed companies. [14]

Documents and fees

Document / informationContents and purposeFeeHow to get it
Official Search (CR12): company report [2] [4] [5] [3]Company particulars covering directors, shareholders and holdings, registered office and registered encumbrances.650 KES: 600 KES application fee plus 50 KES eCitizen convenience fee.eCitizen account; Make application and Official Search in the BRS FAQ. Automatic for Verified records only; BRS states three to five days otherwise.
Official Search (CR13): registered business name [3]Official report on a business-name registration. BRS calls this output CR13.250 KES in the first fee row; a repeated row states 200 KES. Check the application amount before paying.Select the BRS service for Business Names. Verified records are automatic; BRS states three to five days for others.
File Perusal: registry file inspection [7] [8] [11]Inspection of accessible documents filed for the selected company.Separate Perusal application with its own payment. Read the amount in the application before paying.eCitizen Perusal application. The 2017 guide requires a registry visit with a reference number and printed receipt after the status becomes Processed.
Certificate of Incorporation: official copy [8] [17]A copy of the specified company’s incorporation certificate, signed or sealed by the Registrar.500 KES in item 5 of the published BRS fee table for section 836.Identify the company and request the copy from the Registrar. Section 836 requires signature or official seal before issue. This price applies to that certificate, not every file copy.
Annual Return and filed financial documents [8] [7] [11]Annual company particulars; financial statements and other reports according to the applicable filing obligation.Obtain through file inspection or a specific copy request. Filing charges are not retrieval fees for another company’s records.Specify the company, document type and financial year in the inspection or copy request. Statutory access restrictions apply.
CMA: listed-company annual report [14] [15]Published annual report in the company folder of the CMA Resource Centre.Public folders and document links are free.Select the sector, company and year, then choose “View Document” or “Download Document”. The public view does not require an eCitizen account.
Format / delivery
PDF. Delivery: View, Download. [14] [15] [18] [11]
International delivery
Postal delivery is not part of this digital route. [14] [15] [18] [11]
BOF7: beneficial ownership search report [9]Company particulars and beneficial owners’ names, postal addresses and nationalities, excluding protected personal identifiers.Statutory search fee: 600 KES.BOF6 request under regulation 14, restricted to eligible financial institutions, designated businesses and professionals. Not an unrestricted public search.

Entities and information covered

The Companies Registry covers private and public companies and foreign companies registered in Kenya. BRS also handles business names and limited liability partnerships. Select the appropriate entity type; the detailed CR12 FAQ expressly describes private companies. [1] [3] [2]

Invest Kenya describes CR12 as providing directors and shareholders and their shareholdings. It also lists the registered office and registered debentures, charges or encumbrances, including debt instruments and security interests. Request the relevant file copy when you need the underlying instrument. [5] [8]

The file contains individual filings beyond the company search report. Inspection has statutory limits: section 854 excludes protected personal information and specified records. Electronic filing credentials are expressly excluded from public inspection. [8]

Accounts and access from abroad

The BRS enhanced-system manual describes three personal account categories. Kenyan citizens use an ID number. Foreign residents use an Alien ID, their Kenyan foreign-resident identifier. Visitors to Kenya use a passport number. Select the category matching your actual status. [6]

For visitor access, select your nationality and enter your passport number. The manual also requires your names as shown in the passport, sex and date of birth. Then provide contact details, a password and a photo. Contact the account service if identity verification fails. [6]

Use your own eCitizen account for registry reports. The publicly described CR12 application does not require membership of the company being researched. Link Business is an administration procedure for directors, director-shareholders or appointed company secretaries; it is not the route for ordering another company’s search report. [5] [2]

The BRS Version 2 landing page lists mobile money, card payments and online banking through local banks. Select the available payment method within the signed-in application. [12]

The published Version 2 service list dated 19 November 2025 still marks the private-company search “No”. Use the FAQ link to brs.ecitizen.go.ke for the CR12 procedure described here. The same list marks Perusal and Certified Copies “Yes”. [11] [2]

Fees and processing periods

The CR12 company search costs 650 KES. Both the BRS FAQ and the first company-search row in its fee table state that amount. Invest Kenya breaks it down into a 600 KES application fee and a 50 KES eCitizen convenience fee. [2] [3] [4]

The first business-name search row states 250 KES. Repeated rows at the end of the same BRS table show 200 KES for business names and 600 KES for companies. The business-name discrepancy is unresolved on that page. Check the amount shown in the specific CR13 application before paying. [3]

BRS distinguishes automatic output for verified records from manually processed applications. The first fee rows state three to five days for unverified companies and business names. [3] [2]

A copy of the incorporation certificate costs 500 KES under item 5 of the published BRS fee table. Section 836 requires the Registrar to sign or authenticate the copy with the official seal before issue. This tariff concerns the incorporation certificate and does not automatically apply to other file copies. [8] [17]

Beneficial ownership: restricted access

Beneficial owners are the natural persons who ultimately own or control a company. Their separately filed particulars are not generally part of the public CR12 process. The rules published in October 2023 prohibit general public disclosure and set out specific exceptions. [9] [5]

Financial institutions and designated non-financial businesses or professionals subject to anti-money-laundering rules may request a search under regulation 14 using BOF6. BOF7 is the prescribed report. The statutory search fee is 600 KES. [9]

BOF7 provides company particulars and beneficial owners’ names, postal addresses and nationalities. Protected information such as passport numbers and dates of birth is excluded from this route. Authorities and court orders have separate access provisions. The specimen restricts use to customer due diligence and prohibits further publication unless permitted by law. [9]

Regulation 15 permits publication by the procurement regulator concerning awarded public contracts, and by a government where a matter is of public interest. These exceptions do not create an open search across all beneficial owners. The June 2026 BRS guide concerns filing and updating information by the responsible companies. [9] [10]

Financial statements and annual returns

An Annual Return is an annual filing of company particulars. Section 706 of the Companies Act covers the company’s status and officers; section 707 adds capital and member details for companies with share capital. Financial documents or an exemption statement may accompany it where applicable. Request financial statements specifically when those are what you need. [8]

For companies under the small companies regime, section 686 generally requires a filed balance sheet. The profit and loss account and directors’ report may be omitted. An auditor’s report may also be absent where the company uses an audit exemption. For other unquoted companies, section 687 provides for the annual financial statement, directors’ report and, generally, the auditor’s report. Specify the document and financial year in your request. [8]

For listed companies, use the free CMA reports portal. Select the sector and company folder, then “View Document” to read an available PDF financial statement. BRS treats Annual Returns and Financial Statements as separate filings. [14] [15] [18] [11]

Verify an existing document

The public BRS Verify Output form asks for the service type and an Application Number. It is an entry point for checking an existing output document. It has no company-name search field. Have the reference from the document ready for this route. [13]

Official samples and reading guides

Avoid common mistakes

  • The CR12 form on the BRS forms page notifies a change of a company secretary’s residential address. It is not a blank specimen of the identically named company search report. Choose the Official Search service for research. [16] [2]
  • A CR12 report is addressed to the applying account. If a bank or other recipient requires a particular addressee, establish that requirement before ordering. [2]
  • Review in the File Perusal guide means an officer is processing the application. Processed is the status after which the guide instructs the applicant to visit the registry for inspection. [7]
  • Link Business changes the account association and particulars of the account holder’s company. Do not use it instead of requesting another company’s report. [2]
  • Registered shareholders and the restricted BOF7 disclosure are different datasets. Paying the CR12 fee does not also purchase disclosure of every beneficial owner. [5] [9]
  • Match the entity named on the CMA document’s title page to the company you are researching. A company folder can also contain a subsidiary’s financial statement. Check whether it is a separate or consolidated statement. [15] [18]

Frequently asked questions

Can I research a Kenyan company without an account?

The documented official CR12 process requires an eCitizen account and costs 650 KES. CMA listed-company reports do not require that login. The public BRS verification form requires an existing application number. [2] [15] [13]

Do I need a Kenyan national ID?

The BRS manual provides a passport-based visitor category. It lists an Alien ID for foreign residents. Identity validation and the contact details required by the actual registration process still apply. [6]

What identifiers do I need?

The CR12 FAQ specifies the registered company name or number in Registration Name or Number. After selecting the record, the application requests the applicant’s contact and recipient details. [2]

Why is the CR12 report not generated immediately?

Automatic output is limited to Verified records. BRS states a processing period of three to five days for unverified companies. [2] [3]

Are beneficial owners publicly searchable?

The rules do not provide a general public BO search. BOF6 and BOF7 are restricted routes for legally eligible institutions and professions. Publication concerning awarded public contracts or the public interest has a separate legal basis. [9]

Original sources

Sources reviewed: 15 September 2026. The guidance is based on the linked information published by registers and public authorities.

  1. Companies Registry Business Registration Service
  2. BRS: Frequently Asked Questions Business Registration Service
  3. Fee Schedule: Companies Registry Business Registration Service
  4. Company official search (CR12): Verfahren und Gebühren Kenya Investment Authority (Invest Kenya)
  5. Invest Kenya: Company official search (CR12) Kenya Investment Authority (Invest Kenya)
  6. Enhanced System User Manual Business Registration Service
  7. File Perusal: amtliche Anleitung vom 5. Dezember 2017 Business Registration Service
  8. Companies Act 2015, amtlich bereitgestellte Fassung Rev. 2021 Kenya Law / Business Registration Service
  9. Legal Notice 162: Companies (Beneficial Ownership Information) (Amendment) Regulations 2023 Kenya Gazette / Business Registration Service
  10. Step-by-Step Guide: Updating Beneficial Ownership on BRS V2 Business Registration Service
  11. Services available on BRS Version 2: 19. November 2025 Business Registration Service
  12. BRS Version 2: Anmeldung und Bezahlung Business Registration Service
  13. BRS: Verify Output Business Registration Service
  14. About the CMA Resource Centre Portal Capital Markets Authority
  15. CMA Resource Centre: Annual Reports Capital Markets Authority
  16. Companies Registry: Forms Business Registration Service
  17. Fees Chargeable by Companies for Services Provided under the Act Business Registration Service
  18. CMA: Jahresabschluss 2025 Capital Markets Authority